Contributors

Aaron Barlow teaches English at New York City College of Technology of the City University of New York. His books include *The Rise of the Blogosphere* and *The Cult of Individualism*. He is former Faculty Editor of *Academe*. His primary focus is the teaching of first-year composition.

Darsie Bowden is Professor Emerita at DePaul University where she ran the First-Year Writing program. She served on the executive board of the Council of Writing Program Administration and is the author of *The Mythology of Voice*. Her articles have been published in the *Journal of Writing Assessment*, WPA Journal, Composition Studies, and the Journal of College Composition and Communication.

Kefaya Diab is a post-doctoral fellow at Indiana University. She engages rhetorical theory and cultural (digital) rhetorics in theorizing activist movements in the Arab world and adopts a critical pedagogy that invites students to utilize digital rhetorics and composition as tools to promote social justice. Her work has appeared in *Composition Studies* and *Paideia-16 Textbook*.

William Duffy is Associate Professor and Coordinator of the Writing, Rhetoric, and Technical Communication program at the University of Memphis, where he teaches courses in composition, rhetoric, and professional writing. His book *Beyond Conversation: Collaboration and the Production of Writing* is forthcoming from Utah State University Press.

Patricia Freitag Ericsson is Associate Professor Emeritus at Washington State University, where she served as Director of Composition and Director of the Digital Technology and Culture Degree Program. She has published widely in journals, including *Journal of Teaching Writing, English Education, The Clearing House,* and *Computers and Composition*, as well as edited collections. She co-edited *Machine Scoring of Student Essays: Truth and Consequences* with Rich Haswell.

Ti Macklin is a lecturer at Boise State University, where she teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in composition and rhetoric. She has published in *Composition Forum*, *Journal of Response to Writing*, *California English*, and a number of edited collections. She is Associate Editor of the *Journal of Writing Assessment* and Editor of the *JWA Reading List*.

Craig A. Meyer is Assistant Professor of English at Texas A&M University Kingsville, where he specializes in rhetoric, academic writing, and creative writing. His research focuses on histories of rhetoric, social justice, distinctions between global ethos and local ethos, disability studies, and rhetoric of popular culture including Star Trek. He has published in *CCCC-IP*, *Humanities*, and *Writing Spaces*.

Whitney Myers is Associate Professor of English at Texas Wesleyan University, where she teaches first-year writing and upper-level writing classes as well as themed courses such as The Rhetoric of Popular Culture. Her most recent publications focus on rhetorical histories in off-reservation boarding schools, yoga, and feminism.

Mark W. Shealy is Instructor at Tennessee Technical University, where he teaches first-year writing. He is also Adjunct Assistant Professor at the University of Maryland Global Campus, where he teaches advanced technical communication. He has published in *Rhetoric Society Quarterly (RSQ)*, *Sweetland Digital Rhetoric Collaborative*, and *Enculturation: A Journal of Rhetoric, Writing, and Culture*.

Dianna Winslow is Assistant Director and Writing Instruction Specialist for the Center for Teaching, Learning, and Technology at California Polytechnic, San Luis Obispo. She works with faculty on writing instruction in general education and discipline-specific contexts and coaches faculty on scholarly writing and writing for professional advancement.

Kathleen Blake Yancey is Kellogg Hunt Professor and Distinguished Research Professor at Florida State University. Author/editor of 16 books, she has published over 100 articles and book chapters. She is the recipient of several awards, including the Donald Murray Prize, the FSU Graduate Teaching Award (twice), the CCCC Exemplar Award, and NCTE's Squire Award.